Preface

I’m thinking of giving different color variation for each post. The idea is there are 12 months in a year, and there are rgb (red, green, blue) colors, both contain combination of three number.

I don’t know if it is a good idea or not, but I feels like my blog is too plain. I’m not really a designer, so I add this colored stripes for my blog.


Inkscape steps

  • Create new inkscape document 360px x 200px

  • Create the transparent white stripes pattern. 30x30

https://tucsonlabs.com/2009/03/19/patterns-with-inkscape/

  • Create a box width 30px x height 200px. Duplicate each box beside for each 12 months

  • Colorize each month boxes with RGB.

  • Create a box of 360px x 200px Fill with white stripes pattern. Lower the transparency for about 30% or 40% to make a soft pastel effect.

  • Create a vertical gradient over the layers from #ffffff88 to #ffffff00

  • Export each month box objects to separate png images from 01.png to 12.png.

  • You can even export a transparent png overlay 00.png, and still preserve your CSS color.


Detail on Colors in Inkscape

The first six colors combination is easy:

  • rgb(255,0,0)
  • rgb(255,255,0)
  • rgb(0,255,0)
  • rgb(0,255,255)
  • rgb(0,0,255)
  • rgb(255,0,255)

The next six colors, is combination of above colors.

  • rgb(255,127,0)
  • rgb(127,255,0)
  • rgb(0,255,127)
  • rgb(0,127,255)
  • rgb(127,0,255)
  • rgb(255,0,127)

Of course you can utilize your own color scheme that is suitable for your site.

Inkscape Stripe All Colors

You can see how easy it is. I don’t even think about what color, or any aesthetic aspects. It simply math.


Glossy

With about similar method, you can apply it to glossy design. Glossy design has been popularized by Vista a decade ago.

  • Copy Inkscape above, and reduced page document to 360px x 80px

  • Select all by mouse, and resized all object’s heights from 200px to 80px.

  • Create a white ($fff) box on top half of the page (40px x 360px) And reduced the transparency to about 4% or 10%.

  • Export to each month to png.

Inkscape Glossy All Colors


Website steps

  • CSS
.stripe--01 {
    background: transparent url(/images/stripe/01.png) repeat-x left top;
}
  • HTML (sample using Jekyll)
<article class="post well stripe--{{ page.date | date: '%m' }}">

Jekyll Stripe Background


Finally

You can see the result on both figure above.

  • Inkscape SVG document
  • Decoration in blog post

I don’t know how long would I put this stripe stuff on my blog. It looks childish, and I lost the boldness of the design. I wish I have a better decoration idea than just this plain pages.

Thank you for reading.